Sport Awards ceremony recognises exceptional achievements

Updated 30/05/2014

Gower College Swansea has celebrated the success of its sport students with a Sports Awards evening at the Liberty Stadium.

Among those receiving recognition on the evening was Molly Davies Briskham who won the Gareth Jenkins Award for Sports Volunteer of the Year. She was presented with her award by former student Eli Walker from the Ospreys.

Molly enrolled at the college as a Silver Young Ambassador and now is a fantastic influence on college based sport as a Gold ambassador and the leader of the college young ambassador programme. She attends and supports weekly college netball sessions and instructs swimming outside college with the local community. In addition, Molly is on the Welsh steering group for young leaders and the only Welsh member on the British Young Leaders Council. Through setting up a support and promotion group for Team Wales (Commonwealth Games), Molly has met the Queen. Having been named the 2013 Swansea Sports development young leader of the year, Molly recently met the Minister for Culture, Media and Sport to promote the work of young sports leaders.

Anuerin Donald received the Jeremy Cooper Award for Sportsman of the Year and was presented with his award by Jeremy Cooper himself. Anuerin is a sports scholarship student at the college and an outstanding young cricketer. Despite his age (17 years), his list of accomplishments is already extensive. Gaining entry onto the England Development Programme (EDP) is a significant achievement. This elite program is intensive and has required a singular focus and enormous time commitment. He is also an important part of the Glamorgan Academy, having recently been offered a contract with the county’s senior squad, making his first class (professional) debut only a few weeks ago. He has captained the England U17 team, and is currently on tour in Sri-Lanka with this elite EDP squad. Aneurin also won the SportingWales Rising Star Award for November 2013.

Since starting at the college, he has worked hard at his game, actively taking part in the college’s cricket academy, and providing an immeasurable presence for his team mates, coaching and leading sessions in a professional and mature fashion. Aneurin has also attended open evenings, supporting the college’s future recruitment, and enhancing cricket’s status within FE. It is these strands of his contributions that are particularly noteworthy, as he has improved the standard of cricket within the college and become a role-model for aspiring young cricketers.

Angharad Jenkins received the Jayne Bateman Award for Sportswoman of the Year and was presented by Jayne Bateman. Angharad is a sports scholarship student who has represented the college academies in both hockey and ladies football. While studying at the college she has played for Wales U18’s Hockey, Wales U17’s Football, Welsh Colleges Hockey and Welsh Colleges Football.

A number of students who have competed at national level were acknowledged during the evening. Wales rugby U18 internationals Harrison Walsh and Jon Fox presented their framed international shirts to the Principal and college premier footballers Ben May, Ryan Samuel, Nikki Parvin and Luke Fleming received their Welsh Colleges football caps from Swansea City footballer, Scott Tancock. Zoe Hatch and Angharad Jenkins received their Welsh Colleges Ladies football caps from Swansea City goalkeeper, David Cornell. Wales Rugby U18 internationals Ben Davies and Matthew Aubrey were also acknowledged.