This course is available in Welsh

Advanced Skills Baccalaureate Wales

Level 3
Welsh Bac
Tycoch, Gorseinon
Two years
Apply now


The AdvSBW Level 3 qualification supports you to become an effective, responsible and active citizen, equipping you with the skills needed for future study or to enter the job market.  

Over the two years you will undertake the Global Community Project, Future Destination Project, and Individual Project. 

You will develop a range of skills which are attractive to employers, colleges and universities including: 

Integral skills 

  • Planning and Organisation 
  • Critical Thinking and Problem Solving 
  • Creativity and Innovation 
  • Personal Effectiveness.

Embedded skills 

  • Literacy 
  • Numeracy 
  • Digital Competence.

You will develop and apply the four Integral Skills and have opportunities to develop the three Embedded Skills. You will take part in a variety of exciting activities and contexts which will be based on the United Nations sustainable development agenda and Wales’s Well-being Goals as defined by the Well-being of Future Generations Act (Wales). 

Key information

Entry Requirements

  • A minimum of seven GCSEs grades A*-C, including English Language and Mathematics 

Course Delivery

Over the two years you will study: 

Global Community Project (25%) 
You will select a global issue to investigate, share your knowledge with others and take part in a community action. 

Future Destination Project (25%) 
You will gain an understanding of yourself, explore future employment and wellbeing goals, and plan how you can achieve this. 

Individual Project (50%) 
You will plan, manage, and research a topic linked to your future education or career aspirations, and create a written dissertation or an artefact. 

Assessments can be taken throughout the two year course with external moderation in January and May. 

Progression Opportunities

This qualification allows you to develop important skills that you can take forward whether you are moving on to university, training, or employment. 

Developing these skills will help you become an effective, responsible, and active citizen and can have a profound effect on your future success and wellbeing. 

Additional Information

Similar to a range of courses you will be able to tailor the skills developed to a range of academic and vocational subjects. 


Interested in studying this course?

Apply now!